Home / My Charm Life / Chosen Forever: Diamonds 101 The 4 C's
December 02 2016

Chosen Forever: Diamonds 101 The 4 C's

There are moments in our lives that shine in our hearts forever. Like these special moments, diamonds are both unique and meant to be celebrated for a lifetime - that’s where we come in.

Diamonds are our speciality! From helping you to choose the perfect engagement ring and wedding band that bonds your love for an eternity, to a stunning anniversary ring that celebrates the memories you’ve created together, and every moment in between — we’re with you every step of the way.

For many, an engagement ring is the first major investment they will make. It’s the first step of many with the one you promise to love forever.

As diamond experts, we understand that choosing the perfect diamond can be overwhelming and sometimes intimidating, but we’re here to help! Understanding the fundamentals of diamond shopping will help you to know what to look for when finding the perfect diamond, and knowing the basics is easier than you may think! Just think of the four C’s...


Carat, Clarity, Colour and Cut




Carat is the unit of weight that is used for weighing all diamonds and gemstones. It's the easiest of the 4C's to understand because it is simply a weight term like pound, ounce or gram.

Think of a carat this way: A 1 carat diamond is made up of 100 points, much the same as there are 100 pennies in 1 dollar. A fifty pointer is half a carat, or .50 carat. Another diamond term is total weight, which simply means the combined weight of all the diamonds in a piece of jewellery.





Clarity refers to the internal and external characteristics of a diamond. The Gemological Institute of America diamond clarity grading scale is based on a skilled grader viewing the diamond with 10X magnification in lab conditions.


Internally Flawless: Free from inclusions and blemishes

VVS1-VVS2: Characteristics extremely difficult to see

VS1- VS2: Characteristics very difficult to see

SI1-SI: Characteristics may be seen

I1: Characteristics can be seen slightly

I2: Characteristics more visible

I3: Characteristics can be easily seen




In colour grading diamonds, the less colour the better. For example, a diamond that is said to have fine colour really has no visible colour at all. The GIA colour scale has 23 different grades that starts at D and goes through to Z. It is very important to realize that each colour grade represents a range of colour. Generally speaking as you progress down the scale, a diamond will be less rare and therefore less expensive.

Fancy colour diamonds are quite simply diamonds with distinct attractive tints that can occur naturally or can be artificially induced by heat or irradiation.

In most diamonds, the less colour the higher the value. In fancy diamonds, the value increases with colour saturation. The most common naturally occurring fancies are yellows and browns, followed by grays, blues and pinks then oranges, greens, purples, and reds which are very rare. 





Cut can refer either to a diamond's shape or the proportions, symmetry, and finish. Popular shapes are round brilliant, princess, cushion, emerald, marquise, oval, pear, and heart. The proportions, symmetry of the facets, and the finish influence how much light a diamond returns to the eye. These factors define the diamond's cut grades, which include ideal, excellent, very good, good, medium good, medium, fair, and poor. Generally the better the quality of the cut the more beautiful the diamond.


When shopping for a diamond, it’s important to create a relationship with your jeweller. When you communicate your needs and budget, your jeweller will be able to help you to choose the perfect ring for your engagement and every special moment for many years to come.